Big Blue Interactive The Corner Forum  
Back to the Corner
 

Archived Thread

I'm Confused by What is a TD

ImThatGuy : 10/5/2017 9:45 pm
Watching the Patriots / Bucs game and having a hard time figuring out what is a TD following the Chris Hogan score. Sorry if this is a stupid question but I think the rules need to be addressed

Chris Hogan caught and had possession of the ball in the endzone, but was in the air. And by the time his feet had come down the DB had driven him out of the endzone a few yards. How is this a TD?

Isn't a catch only a catch when 2 feet come down? The ball was far out of the endzone by the time the receiver came down. If the DB had pushed him out of bounds the TD would have been called off, so how does this TD stand?


video here - ( New Window )
He broke the plain of the goal with the ball  
JohnB : 10/5/2017 9:47 pm : link
TD
Sorry "plane of the goal" if you're the English police  
JohnB : 10/5/2017 9:48 pm : link
.
RE: He broke the plain of the goal with the ball  
ImThatGuy : 10/5/2017 9:50 pm : link
In comment 13632371 JohnB said:
Quote:
TD


yeah but by the time his feet came down he (and the ball) was on the 2-3 yard line. don't his feet have to come down for it to be a catch
The point here is that by rule  
eclipz928 : 10/5/2017 9:50 pm : link
Hogan didn't complete the catch until his feet touched down on the ground, which happened outside of the end zone.
Exactly what I said in the game thread...  
Scuzzlebutt : 10/5/2017 9:53 pm : link
If the endzone line was the sideline he would be out of bounds (even if he caught it in the endzone and got carried out of bounds). I don't understand how that is a TD.
Forward progress  
robbieballs2003 : 10/5/2017 9:55 pm : link
Since he was contacted the forward progress is where he was contacted but he would still need to complete the catch for that to occur.
forward progress  
PaulBlakeTSU : 10/5/2017 9:55 pm : link
Otherwise, on a catch where a receiver jumps to make the catch, a defensive player could theoretically catch him in the air and run with him down the field.
RE: Exactly what I said in the game thread...  
robbieballs2003 : 10/5/2017 9:57 pm : link
In comment 13632392 Scuzzlebutt said:
Quote:
If the endzone line was the sideline he would be out of bounds (even if he caught it in the endzone and got carried out of bounds). I don't understand how that is a TD.


It is different by the sideline because forward progress is different than getting pushed out horizontal. Plus, out of bounds is no catch. Hogan's feet landed in the field of play.
RE: The point here is that by rule  
robbieballs2003 : 10/5/2017 10:00 pm : link
In comment 13632383 eclipz928 said:
Quote:
Hogan didn't complete the catch until his feet touched down on the ground, which happened outside of the end zone.


Forward progress.
A TD is 7 points  
Sarcastic Sam : 10/5/2017 10:04 pm : link
Sometimes 6. Sometimes 8.

You're welcome.
Really?  
littlejoe47 : 10/5/2017 10:07 pm : link
I was sure that was coming back. Can you break the plane without possession? Does he have possession before he hits the ground? Seems to fly against recent logic/illogic about TDs. Additionally, I am playing against Hogan in fantasy. #bitterandpissed
What if he got carred all the way to the sideline?  
Scuzzlebutt : 10/5/2017 10:08 pm : link
Then he is out of bounds i guess. Dont't like the rule.
Forward progress  
Tuckrule : 10/5/2017 10:09 pm : link
A DB cannot carry a defender backwards in to air. Forwarded progresss was ruled therefore it's a td
Seems  
littlejoe47 : 10/5/2017 10:09 pm : link
You can't have forward progress without possession.
RE: Forward progress  
littlejoe47 : 10/5/2017 10:13 pm : link
Okay. So you are immediately in possession at contact with ball unless you subsequently drop it? What if he gets cariied back for two yards then drops it before going down?

In comment 13632431 Tuckrule said:
Quote:
A DB cannot carry a defender backwards in to air. Forwarded progresss was ruled therefore it's a td
Who isn't?  
old man : 10/6/2017 2:12 am : link
Including the officials.
RE: RE: Forward progress  
Gary from The East End : Admin : 10/6/2017 4:20 am : link
In comment 13632440 littlejoe47 said:
Quote:
Okay. So you are immediately in possession at contact with ball unless you subsequently drop it? What if he gets cariied back for two yards then drops it before going down?




He caught it in the air, so if he dropped it while he was going down it would be an incomplete.
If you catch the ball in the end zone  
jeff57 : 10/6/2017 5:30 am : link
with your feet on the ground and run a couple of steps before falling out of bounds=No TD.

If you catch the ball in the end zone but your feet land on the 2 yard line=TD.

Life in today's NFL.
The forward progress rule sucks  
UConn4523 : 10/6/2017 7:03 am : link
only because it applies to some, and not all catches. Way too much emphasis in the rule book on sideline/OOB plays which completely contradict the forward progress rule.
We don't see many of them so your confusion is understandable  
Brown Recluse : 10/6/2017 7:55 am : link
.
If that happened in the back of the Endzone  
FranknWeezer : 10/6/2017 8:51 am : link
Where Hogan caught the ball in the air and was forced out of bounds before his feet came down, the exact opposite result would apply. That seems so ridiculous.
On the other hand, if you look at Doug Martin's leaping touchdown  
FranknWeezer : 10/6/2017 8:53 am : link
Where his feet left the ground ahead of the end zone and the ball crossed the plane of the goal line in the air, but then he was shoved back into the field of play before his feet touched the ground, that was also a touchdown. So I guess in one sense, the Martin and Hogan rulings are consistent.
RE: RE: Forward progress  
Gatorade Dunk : 10/6/2017 9:28 am : link
In comment 13632440 littlejoe47 said:
Quote:
Okay. So you are immediately in possession at contact with ball unless you subsequently drop it? What if he gets cariied back for two yards then drops it before going down?

In comment 13632431 Tuckrule said:


Quote:


A DB cannot carry a defender backwards in to air. Forwarded progresss was ruled therefore it's a td


Then it's an incomplete pass. Simple, no?
the ball broke the plane and he maintained possession  
gidiefor : Mod : 10/6/2017 11:13 am : link
in bounds
RE: If you catch the ball in the end zone  
BillKo : 10/6/2017 3:22 pm : link
In comment 13632593 jeff57 said:
Quote:
with your feet on the ground and run a couple of steps before falling out of bounds=No TD.

If you catch the ball in the end zone but your feet land on the 2 yard line=TD.

Life in today's NFL.


I think you're not telling the whole story. In both instances, the receiver must maintain possession of the ball.

In both instances, if the players falls while making the catch and the ball comes free, it's incomplete.

The Hogan TD wasn't over as soon as he was across the line, he needed to maintain possession of the ball, which he did.

Sterling Sheppard did not.
RE: On the other hand, if you look at Doug Martin's leaping touchdown  
BillKo : 10/6/2017 3:24 pm : link
In comment 13632659 FranknWeezer said:
Quote:
Where his feet left the ground ahead of the end zone and the ball crossed the plane of the goal line in the air, but then he was shoved back into the field of play before his feet touched the ground, that was also a touchdown. So I guess in one sense, the Martin and Hogan rulings are consistent.


Difference in Martin is going in as a runner, not pass receiver in the endzone.............
Back to the Corner