Big Blue Interactive The Corner Forum  
Back to the Corner
 

Archived Thread

Intentional grounding calls

TimsGiants : 10/9/2017 11:11 am
From watching the game on TV it looked to me that there were a few big intentional grounding calls missed on Rivers. One in particular where the ref said the qb was outside the tackles when he clearly wasn't.

Was that challengable? I feel I've seen that challenged in the past.
don't think it's challengeable  
giants#1 : 10/9/2017 11:15 am : link
definitely missed one that should've been a safety.
I also feel like I've seen that challenged before  
Knee of Theismann : 10/9/2017 11:31 am : link
And I believe it should have been called a safety. Could have made a difference in the game.
That said  
Knee of Theismann : 10/9/2017 11:32 am : link
We should still beat the Chargers at home, regardless of officiating.
Hmm  
TimsGiants : 10/9/2017 11:33 am : link
Would have been a scoring play which is automatically reviewed. I've looked it up and can't find clear answer.
That's Jeff Triplette folks  
B in ALB : 10/9/2017 11:35 am : link
At least one major fuck up per 60 minutes to completely alter the game. In this case it was a 9 point swing.
It does not appear to be reviewable  
ray in arlington : 10/9/2017 11:39 am : link
It is not listed under reviewable plays under Article 5. The "spot of a foul" is listed, but that is under "game administration", so I assume that doesn't literally mean the physical spot where the foul but rather that the referees are using the correct method of determining where the ball should go after an accepted penalty.

One question does come to mind: if it were ruled a safety, then it would be a scoring play. So could a review be done? I don't think so.
RE: Hmm  
ray in arlington : 10/9/2017 11:41 am : link
In comment 13638945 TimsGiants said:
Quote:
Would have been a scoring play which is automatically reviewed. I've looked it up and can't find clear answer.


In the rule book, it says that there is a review when there is an on-field ruling of a score. In this case there was no such ruling.
Back to the Corner