Big Blue Interactive The Corner Forum  
Back to the Corner
 

Archived Thread

Did Ramsey intercept that Pass?

Doomster : 1/7/2018 5:52 pm
Watching the replay, it certainly looked like the nose of the ball, touched the ground, and because of that, there was movement of the ball....now I understand, you do not have to have your hand/arm under the ball as it hits the ground, as long as you maintain possession, and THERE IS NO MOVEMENT OF THE BALL AFTER IT HITS THE GROUND!

Now I understand, whether you are a Bills fan or Jax fan, you may see the play differently because you are a fan...as a Giant fan, I have no vested interest in the outcome.....but to me, that ball clearly moved after hitting the ground....now the ball can move if he had his hand under the ball where it contacted the ground, but he didn't....therefore, he has to maintain possession with no movement of the ball, and he didn't.....

To complicate the outcome of this even further, after the play Ramsey is running around the field with his helmet off and should have been penalized, but wasn't....so if it had been ruled correctly as an incomplete pass(yes I know it wasn't but that doesn't make it so......I remember a fumble call against GB in the playoffs, that even a blind man could get right, and the officials didn't), in addition, the Bills should have had a first down with Ramsey taking his helmet off on the field(OBj gets penalized and he wasn't on the field of play).....

And let's not forget the play that got Peterman into the game, Taylor's head was driven into the ground on the tackle....remember a huge call against the Giants, where Vernon tackled the QB and was penalized for driving him into the turf? Same situation....but this time, no penalty....
Yes he did.  
GiantGolfer : 1/7/2018 5:53 pm : link
.
Thats a catch  
sharpshooter66 : 1/7/2018 5:53 pm : link
.
Iím not sure it ever hit the ground  
BillT : 1/7/2018 5:58 pm : link
And the reply wasnít conclusive. The ball definate moved when he hit the ground but I think his arm was underneath the ball. Anyway thatís the best I could tell from the replay.
He got it...  
bw in dc : 1/7/2018 5:59 pm : link
Plus, it was ruled a catch. So there was no irrefutable evidence to overturn.
I would have called it incomplete  
RetroJint : 1/7/2018 6:00 pm : link
They werenít going anywhere, anyway. Taylor is tough to bring down. Heís an RB on that play. Would there be a roughing call if it were McCoy?

The whiners in Buffalo are back. The refs didnít cost them the game. And after the Jags came offside on the FGA , the first down call, which was a fade to Benjamin against Ramsey was the dumbest fucking call imaginable . The success rate on the end -zone fade is about 15%. Against the NFLís. best player .
Not irrefutable evidence to overturn  
jeff57 : 1/7/2018 6:01 pm : link
.
,  
huygens20 : 1/7/2018 6:17 pm : link
I think you answered your own question...


the ball is allowed to hit the ground, as long as he maintains control over the ball through the event of hitting the ground it is an int.
Totally a catch  
Steve L : 1/7/2018 6:20 pm : link
I got yelled at for saying so since I was watching with Bills fans. But it was a catch.
Who cares? Mediocre  
rebel yell : 1/7/2018 6:20 pm : link
teams find ways to lose games. The Bills were fortunate to get a playoff berth. Relying on the Bangals to get you there isn't a formula for success by any stretch!
RE: Who cares? Mediocre  
jnoble : 1/7/2018 6:33 pm : link
In comment 13776990 rebel yell said:
Quote:
teams find ways to lose games. The Bills were fortunate to get a playoff berth. Relying on the Bangals to get you there isn't a formula for success by any stretch!

They would've gotten destroyed by the Patriots next week like 44-3
Yes  
ZogZerg : 1/7/2018 7:04 pm : link
Definitely a catch
If the refs said he did  
Carl in CT : 1/7/2018 7:57 pm : link
He did. Thatís all that matters. Next!
It was an  
section125 : 1/7/2018 8:00 pm : link
INT.
Great Play Ramsey!  
idiotsavant : 1/7/2018 8:03 pm : link
Hello. People.
Great Play Ramsey!  
idiotsavant : 1/7/2018 8:05 pm : link
Hello. People.
Yes.  
bradshaw44 : 1/7/2018 8:06 pm : link
And itís not up for debate.
Also, stop with the  
section125 : 1/7/2018 8:06 pm : link
Taylor was driven into the ground. He was rolled over backwards across the DT's body as both went down and his head hit the ground as he rolled. That is not driven.
That wouldn't be an interception  
fivehead : 1/7/2018 8:24 pm : link
against the Patriots.
I thought it was a pick  
MetsAreBack : 1/8/2018 10:59 am : link
but my frustration is with the league's lack of consistency. James and Benjamin deserved for their touchdowns to stand if yesterday's INT stood.

And Taylor's head was slammed into the ground by the defender. Bang bang play so we can't assume intent, but the defender didnt need to do that to make the tackle.
Replay didn't show enough...  
BillKo : 1/8/2018 1:56 pm : link
to overturn.

In looking at it, maybe you could make a small case for it hitting the ground - maybe - but if that's all you have you have to let the call on the field stand.

My question is, when they go to replay and have help from NY, is there one guy doing every game or multiples.

I would assume multiples. And if that's the case, it's all about to interpretation and why some calls are seemingly overturned when they shouldn't.

Just look on this board when the Giants have a call........we get conflicting opinions.

Replay is not a science.
Back to the Corner