Big Blue Interactive The Corner Forum  
Back to the Corner

Archived Thread

NFL Catch Question: What is the Correct Call?

M.S. : 12/31/2018 10:31 am

A receiver is about 3 yards from the sideline and makes a jump catch of the ball.

As soon as he catches it, the CB grabs hold of him in the air and then proceeds to carry him out of bounds.

The WR never touches the ground in bounds and the CB had to take at least, say 4 steps to carry the WR out of bounds.

Before the rule change of forcing a receiver out of bounds, it would have been a catch.

But what about now?

And what if we exaggerate the circumstances.

What if the WR jumped for the ball around 10 yards from the sideline and the CB literally carried him 8 steps out of bounds?

Catch or no catch?

Thanks in advance for any thoughts on this!
no  
pjcas18 : 12/31/2018 10:33 am : link
catch, it's happened (not quite as egregious as carrying someone 10 yards, but it's happened)
It's going to be a completed pass.....  
BillKo : 12/31/2018 10:33 am : link
.......in both instances I think they'd rule "forward progress" is stopped.
The correct answer is:  
McNally's_Nuts : 12/31/2018 10:34 am : link
"We don't know, as it changes from week to week and depends on which official is officiating the game."

That's the answer out of 345 Park Ave.
the key to your description..  
BillKo : 12/31/2018 10:34 am : link
...is "carries him out of bounds".

That's different than a hit or tackle that carries the play out of bounds.
It's not a catch  
pjcas18 : 12/31/2018 10:36 am : link
there is no forward progress stopped, the receiver has to have both feet in bounds, or as we saw yesterday, a knee or part of the body that constitutes coming down in bounds.

If no part of your body touches the ground before you wind up out of bounds it's not a catch.

I think is the case of this description...  
BillKo : 12/31/2018 10:39 am : link
...there's going to be some judgement involved too.

A hit, tackle, or push would result in an incompletion IMO.

But "carrying" a guy out of bounds....I'd like to see a play that's happened and called out of bounds.
Actually I think I'm completely wrong  
pjcas18 : 12/31/2018 10:40 am : link
per the rule book.

If a player, who is in possession of the ball, is held up and carried out of bounds by an opponent before both feet or any part of his body other than his hands touches the ground inbounds, it is a completed or intercepted pass. It is not necessary for the player to maintain control of the ball when he lands out of bounds.
RE: It's not a catch  
BillKo : 12/31/2018 10:42 am : link
In comment 14241039 pjcas18 said:
Quote:
there is no forward progress stopped, the receiver has to have both feet in bounds, or as we saw yesterday, a knee or part of the body that constitutes coming down in bounds.

If no part of your body touches the ground before you wind up out of bounds it's not a catch.


I'm not sure how yesterday's catch by Dallas is related - if that's the play you refer to? The player wasn't "carried" out of bounds.....and not sure if he was even touched. But if he was it was a push or shove or tackle or even a thrown out of bounds by the Giants defender.

I think we are talking "carry" here, which implies an entirely different situation.

RE: Actually I think I'm completely wrong  
BillKo : 12/31/2018 10:45 am : link
In comment 14241051 pjcas18 said:
Quote:
per the rule book.

If a player, who is in possession of the ball, is held up and carried out of bounds by an opponent before both feet or any part of his body other than his hands touches the ground inbounds, it is a completed or intercepted pass. It is not necessary for the player to maintain control of the ball when he lands out of bounds.


There you go.

And again, I think the idea is your "forward progress" has been stopped...even though you aren't exactly going forward....but the play is in essence over.
That was one of the things they clarified when they changed the rule  
Andy in Halifax : 12/31/2018 10:56 am : link
If "carried" out of bounds it would be a catch. Not sure how they determine that, but in your example I would say 4 steps is pretty clear to be "carried".

That's a catch.
Back to the Corner