|interception on a 2 point PAT?|
| During a Try, the following shall apply:
If a kick results in a field goal by the offense, one point is awarded. An artificial or manufactured tee shall not be permitted to assist in the execution of a Try-kick. (The conditions of 11-4-1 must be met.)
If a Try results in a touchdown by either team, two points are awarded.
If the Try results in what would ordinarily be a safety against either team, one point is awarded to the opponent.
If any play results in a touchback, the Try is unsuccessful, and there shall be no replay.
The one point play results from a safety against the defending team. This could happen on a kick or on a 2-point conversion. For example, a player could intercept a pass and
try to get out of the end zone to try to earn 2-points of his team by returning it all the way to the other end zone.
He could get tackled before the made it out of his own end zone or he could fumble the ball out of the size or back of the endzone. That would result in the 1 point safety.
|Theoretically the rule allows the kicking or 2-pt attempting team to have a 1-point safety against them, but I can't think of any reasonable way to produce that unless someone decides to take a blocked kick and run it all the way back to their own endzone.|
| If the player was tackled before they made it out of the endzone it would be a touchback.
I thought (in the old days) that if player tried to run out an interception or fumble and was tackled before he got out, that was a safety, because he is now an offensive player (that's why you take a knee)... Was this ruled changed or it never was???