I thought the first 3 plays were Barkley rush for 4 yards, Barkley rush for 1 yard, offsides against GB. If the first two plays netted 5 yards, why didn't the 5-yard penalty on third down result in a NYG first down?
I'm bad with math, but that doesn't seem to make sense. In real time, when there was no complaint from the Giants and the announcers didn't say anything, I figured one of those first two running plays actually somehow netted 4 yards, setting up the 3-1 after the flag.
Out of curiosity, I checked the drive chart with the AP story. It says the penalty advanced the ball only 4 yards! WTF is that? Maybe they are in error there. If not, am I missing something? I'm thinking that since no one else has mentioned this, maybe I don't know the rules as well as I thought I did?
I did scan tosee if this was mentioned in the game thread or after and didn't say it. but if this is somehow Bavarian, I'll delete.